buying a kayak

Hi all, ill be fishing from and using my kayak for fitness, as well as fishing, as well as recreation . I am a beginner and i will mainly be using the kayak on lake monroe in bloomington indiana (if you need info on the lake ) and possible rivers. I want one that i can do all of the above on and still use at more advanced kayaking skill levels. I also want a larger oar i see those make the kayak go faster…? Anyways i could use any and all help in piurchasing my first kayak.

Suggest Scupper Pro
with the tank well. Same as the RTM Tempo.

It’s a rather fast SOT that works well for fishing.

jim

Paddles
Longer paddles do not make your kayak go faster. You do not use oars on a kayak.

Paddle length is a matter of personal preference. Longer paddles tend to have a lower attack angle, and are useful for gentle floats, or for floats where you have long distances to paddle and don’t necessarily want to be lifting the paddle real high over that long distance. To go faster, you need MORE paddle strokes, and to get that I generally recommend a shorter paddle length. The blade has a shorter arc to travel between strokes and that means you can get it into the water that much faster. The blade going through the air does not help you.

As far as kayaks, there are literally dozens that will do some of what you want well and some OK. You’ll have a hard time finding one kayak that will work well for a fitness program, speed, and fishing, on rivers, and on lakes. I think you need to do a little prioritizing, or recognize that whatever you get will be a compromise.

Generally, for fishing you want a fairly wide kayak to get high initial stability. This will generally slow you down. To get speed, you want a narrower kayak, which will generally reduce the initial stability you want for speed and fitness paddling.

• Big D

Demo Days