Buying a Kayak

-- Last Updated: Aug-13-16 1:30 PM EST --

I am looking at a used Perception Carolina 14.5. I am new to kayaking and have read that this should fit me well at 6'2" 205lbs. How much should this be selling for. It says mint condition and garaged during winters.

Edited to add that I am on the South Shore of Long Island. Hoping to do some rivers (if 14.5' isn't too long) as well as the Great South Bay on the South Shore of LI.

Depends on Age and Condition…
…and what other accessories are included: paddle, PFD, etc.

New they’re about $950, and by the end of next month you could probably get an end of season closeout 2016 for 30% off that.

Pricing
Before they discontinued that model of the Carolina the RM polyurethane version was selling for around $950. Sierra Trading Post had them for $500 for a while. If it’s the Airilte version (a lighter type of plastic) those were close to $2000 new and $1500 when they were discounted at phase out. You can get a new RM Carolina 14 for $979.

Still a good day touring boat and if it really is in excellent shape $400 or $500 would be a decent deal for the RM version and maybe $500 to $600 for an Airilite version. Make sure you are comfortable in the cockpit when you go look at it and that your legs and feet fit. Their Carolina 160 (also discontinued) was really the model they made for larger guys.

Check the bottom of the hull for flat or caved in spots (oilcanning) from improper storage and inspect the plastic – it should not look dry or crackled. Stretched out bungie cord or sticky rudder apparatus (if it has a rudder) can be fixed.

Whatever boat you get, take some lessons with an outfitter before venturing out into the coastal waters. Like most sports, kayaking isn’t intuitive and you will be ahead of the game in getting instruction in paddling technique and safety – pretty important in ocean paddling.

Thanks
For the replies.