buying a new kayak, advice please

I am currently searching and researching for a sea kayak. I have no experience at all. I am wondering what I should be looking for as far as the length, make and model. Is there a review or information website you could direct me to? Thank you.

Jon

Advice
1. Reviews are in the left column of this site.

2. Paddle as many kayaks as possible before buying. Don’t buy one by the way it feels in a showroom - get it on the water.

3. Go to a Kayak Festival, such as the one in Charleston in April, where just about all the manufacturers will have their 'yaks their for you to try out.

4. While shoppig for a sea kayak - don’t forget about the accessories: paddle, PFD, spray skirt, paddle float, bilge pump, dry bags, NON-COTTON clothes.

Stay safe on the water

Here is good beginner info.
http://www.paddling.net/guidelines/

The type of boat you will eventually buy will depend on the type of water you will want to paddle…which may change over time. If you are not sure that you are OBSESSED with paddling (like many of us here) and you are not prepared to buy a fleet of kayaks, you may want to invest in an “all arounder” RECREATIONAL KAYAK that can do most things adequately, but is not a specialty craft. Recreational kayaks are “entry level” boats that are not expensive and are easy for beginners to paddle.

Learn before you buy
Get some training before you test boats and you will be better able to evaluate performance charactaristics. Have fun.

Falcon

sure,
I like grey boats,some yellow ones, between 12’-18’,ok, ok,go pick up a Canoe and Kayak magazine. Ask more specific questions.

A book I found
I was at the libary and found a book on sea kayaking called: Essential sea kayaking. I borrowed it cause I knew it had some of the same kayaking techniques for lakes.

the top kayakers sit on top…
I almost quit kayaking because of the whole skirt /flipping safety thing.

My advice: visit the wisdom found here: