Buying a new kayak, looking for advice on some options

Hi, new user here.

For history, I have been using a basic Pelican Pilot SE 100 for about 14 years on and off. Yesterday, I think I may have damaged the hull as my boat filled up 3 times in about a six km stretch. I had to pull out and drain it or I would have sunk. I was in a shallow river so I wasn’t worried about my safety, but I think one of the rocks that I grazed likely did something.

I have this kayak for a long time and probably didn’t store it properly–it spent all of Covid sitting under my Dad’s trailer year round.

So, now I want to upgrade a bit, but not break the bank. I am thinking either the Pelican Sprint 120XR or the Old Town Heron 11XT. Both are just under $1,000 CDN.

Any thoughts on these two? Perhaps other recommendations?

Thank you!

I’ll always vote Old Town . What are your weight and height? There are many boats in that size. The Heron gets good reviews.

2 Likes

Hi, thank you for the response.

I am 6 foot, 220 lbs. I don’t often carry much with me beyond a thermos of water, GoPro and a cell phone. I am leaning toward the Old Town as well. In fact, one of the local outfitters is selling Vapor XT 12 for about the same price as the Heron. I don’t really know if there is much difference between the two, to be honest.

I was interested in the Pelican as I kind of liked the upgraded cockpit with cup holder, etc. But in the end, those things are far less important.

Also, looking at FeelFree Aventura 125 V2 with Skeg. It’s the same price right now at MEC as the other two mentioned.

I don’t really know how to select a boat. I purchased my old Pelican by just walking into Sportchek and saying that one looks nice–it’s red! I had never paddled a lick before that, but have to come really enjoy my time out on my kayak over the years.

I mostly enjoy slow river, marsh, calm lake type kayaking. I just like to look for turtles and snakes and stuff :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like