Buying a Repaired Canoe

I’m in the market for a used canoe (probably the best used canoe for my budget will be an Old Town in good condition). I have seen some that look nice but the seller says there has been a crack repaired and gives pictures etc. How much of a deal breaker is such a repair? I’m new to the more in-depth aspects of canoeing and don’t want to buy a headache. I know used canoes will not be perfect. But, again, some that have been repaired are very nice models in general, but I want to be smart about it. One I am looking at is a Jensen 18 which is reviewed very well in general. It’s actually in my budget but this specific one has had the hull repaired a few times “but not since 2014 and doesn’t leak a drop”. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Salif

Jensen 18 is a great tandem. A composite canoe that has had a small to moderate sized crack repaired might well be good as new (if slightly heavier), but it depends on who did the repair. If you could get and post some pictures you might get more solid advice.

Here is a picture of the Old Town crack repair. The repairs on the Jensen are not specifically photographed but there are some of the hull in general. I will attach those as well. (I apologize, the photos didn’t post in the order I selected them so the two canoes’ photos are mixed together, but they are easily distinguished). Also, the Penobscot 16 in the photographs comes with a small outrigger setup for fishing stability.

Also, I should mention that the purpose of this boat will be family camping/river trips with two adults and one kid who is currently 5 years old. Also will be used for lake fishing, exploring, etc.

Others I’m considering, not shown below, are an Old Town Tripper 172 and an Old Town Discovery 174, each in “good” condition, no repairs stated.

Thanks!