buying a tandem kayak-please help

Hi all.

I am new to kayaking and would really appreciate some input,

I am looking at buying a tandem kayak to do MOMAR adventure race in and have only kayak’d once before in a single.

I am looking at the following

1)current design crosswinds (polymer)

2)Necky amaruk (fibreglass)

3)seda tango 21 (fibreglass)

I think they are all roughly the same weight. I am 5’7 and my partner is rather oversized a 6’7 but slim.

If anyone has any thoughts on what may suit total beginers best (but we have time to practice)

they are all 2nd hand, seaworthy and all around $1000.

I am interested in paddling fast and getting a good time in the race

many thanks for any info

Seda
Just my opinion, looking at the specs. The Seda has been proven in adventure races – it has wider spacing between the stern and bow paddlers which allows for asymmetrical paddling – also has a v hull which should track better than the soft chined Amaruk, and has a Feathercraft rudder, which is a nice feature. Either of the composite/glass boats is a better deal for $1000 than the rotomold Crosswinds. Seda is also 10 lbs lighter despite being 2’ 6" longer.

cheers
thanks, i’ll give it a look, that is certainly the oldest and most used that I am lookinh at.

mc

Second the Seda
All things considered, cost, weight, etc. Owned my expedition weight Tango for a number of years. Despite the 100 lb. weight of mine (They are significantly lighter now.), it is a boat that will take whatever you throw at it. It will plunk around tidal rivers in 8" of water, and will weather the nastiest water imaginable (Ask my tandem partners in the Mayor’s Cup races around Manhattan.). Tons of storage, and wide enough spacing between cockpits so you can paddle out of sync and never clash paddles.