Buying a used kayak

Hello All,

I am a newbie here so please be patient. I am looking for a used kayak, I have “test driven” quite a few and have narrowed the search down. My question is, what types of things should I be look for at when I check out a kayak. The obvious ones would be cracks or repairs in the hull. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Derrick

A few things to check:
1. the bulkheads (for leaking or damage)

2. the hatch covers (for leaking)

3. Rudder - check for frayed cables, and make

sure all the hardware is in decent shape.

Check the rudder slides to make sure they are

not cracked or broken

4. some times on a older poly kayak there is

permanent oil canning (denting) and if it is

it will be hard and possibly impossible to fix

As you mentioned yourself, check the obvious if it is composite for cracks and holes.

Cheers,

JackL

What Jack said +…
Hidden stuff.

Get your head in there and look under the seat for wear from small pebbles, grit or a seat rubbing constantly against the hull. Push on the outside edge of the cockpit rim to see if it is unbonded from deck … if it is it will sort of peel or lift off on the vertical part of rim showing itself in the form of a gap … can be rebonded do no worries. Look for ‘white spots’ along the seam on the inside too. Wear in foot area from use can thin things out. Are the ‘points’ along the keel @ the very ends worn thin or flat ? Look or feel for soft spots on rear deck behind the cockpit, foredeck etc…

Look for a DEMO stamp
usually on the stern of the hull. These are boats that typically do not pass production standards, but make into the supply loop usually at a significant discount. on the used market should be cheaper than similar non-demo boats

good point