buying a whitewater kayak

I decided that i am going to buy a whitewater kayak for my first kayak. I have heard that before i buy one i should take a class so that i can learn the basics, which i agree with completely, and that this class will be able to help me pick out a kayak. I have also heard that whitewater kayaks are custom fit. does this add extra charge to the kayak? I am a college student, and i do not know if i will be able to afford a kayak like this. If someone could help me out, and tell me about their experience with or without lessons, i would appreciate it, and if you could help me out with places in pa where i can get these classes, i would appreciate this also. I am from south central PA and will be moving to Slippery rock PA in august, so if anyone knows good places to go please tell me.

south central PA?
Not sure where you mean but if you’re near Harrisburg, check out Blue Mountain Outfitters in Marysville on the Susquehanna.

Farther west is the Riversport School of Paddling in Confluence PA on the Youghigenny.

Farther east is the Northeast PA kayak school on the Lehigh.

Checking out a club is another good idea. The Canoe Club of Greater Harrisburg is the Harrisburg one.

Google them, they all have websites.

Any of these places can answer all your questions

While the boats are
designed to fit your paddling interests and skills such as playboating, creek boating or river running and size of the paddler they are not specifically “custom fitted”.

There a zillion w/w boats out there and volume of the kayak is part of the fit. Compare your “naked” weight to the maximum recommended volume of the boat. Generally, the closer you are to the maximum volume of the boat the more “playfull” the boat will react.