Buying Advice

I’m new to kayaking, and want something to get started that could also take me into an intermediate level. I’m tall and heavy, and need something comfortable. I’d like to pay in the $500 or less range for the kayak… suggestions?

buying a kayak
whitewater or sea kayak?

Recreational
Sorry, wasn’t detailed enough! Just something to get around on calm lakes and creeks.

Intermediate?
I’m not sure there really are “levels” when it comes to rec (recreational) boating.

For rec boaters, its not so much the boat as it is the knowledge of the user. There are people who have no clue, then there are people who know a thing or two, like how to get back into their kayak if the tip over, what clothing to wear so they don’t go hypothermic, etc.

The boats are so wide, and so stable, that there isn’t really any skill to paddling them. The flip side is, the boats really don’t let you learn any skills in them. I can’t say I’ve ever seen a rec boater learn to roll, edge a turn, pull a bow rudder, surf a standing wave…you get the picture.

This isn’t to disuade you. The point is, any boat you get is going to be fine for what you want to do. Just be sure to put air bags in it if it doesn’t have bulkheads, and take a class to learn how to rescue yourself.

Pungo 120
That’s very helpful, thank you. I’m looking at the Wilderness Systems Pungo 120 at REI, the message boards on this site seem to be favorable. At this point I’d like something of decent quality, but for a beginner like me, so that’s looking appealing.

The pungo
Is great for lakes and bays and not so great for creeks. It is harder to turn, easier to keep straight and faster than the pamlico made by the same company. If most of your paddling will be in shallow or rocky creeks or twisty rivers I’d get the Pamlico instead of the Pungo. If you want a but that will do more I’d look at the Necky Manitous they come in two sizes but they cost more.

I had that one