Buying advice

Hello, I am new to kayaking and was wondering if anyone could offer tips or recommendations on buying a kayak. This would be for flat water use and recreational use. Lots of articles online but hearing from real people helps. Thanks,

Stephanie

add some information
If you can provide a little more detail it would aid in giving you useful advice.

What is your height and weight?

What part of the country are you in and what specific waters do you anticipate paddling on?

What, if any, are your budget limitations?

Have you gone kayaking before, with rental equipment or borrowed from friends?

Are you fairly athletic and looking forward to energetic outings or are you more inclined to leisurely paddling?

Do you have any storage or transportation limitations?

Will you be paddling with other people who already have kayaks? Do you know what size and type of kayaks they have?

Are there any independent kayak outfitters in your area (not the big chain stores) where you can look at and try on a variety of kayaks or possibly attend an on-the-water demo or take an intro to kayaking class?

answer these questions
and you will get a perfect answer =)

no “perfect” answers
But having more information certainly can help narrow down the options and generate more practical advice.

buying advice cont.