buying another kayak -comparisons

i 'm a experince kayaker and have canoe and tatem kayak. i’m consider buying one of the folowing; current design kestrel 12 or 14 ft, eddyline skylark 12 ft, sandpiper 12 ft , equinex 14 ft, or wilderness systems pungo 12 ft. i like to go lightweight. the diffence in money not final factor. i know real decision is to demo. i live in south jersey and may buy from bellhaven of jersey paddler. i like hear some opinions from anyone who owns any of these kayaks. i mainly be paddling small river and lakes. i do go on 10 mile trips with sj out door club. thanks bob

Equinox
I have some experience in a 14 ft Krestel and substantially more in the Equinox. Of your list these are the ones with both fore and aft compartments thus making them closer to touring boats (if you swamp a boat with only a rear compartment it is hard to get the water out again). Of the two I personally was much happier with the Equinox. It is quite a bit more lively. I thought that I would tire of the Kestel - it has so much primary stability that it is difficult to edge. I think if you try the two side by side you will feel the difference immediately. The quality of the Eddyline boats is very impressive.

David

You would do well with any of them.