Buying First Kayak - Need Advice

I am new to the sport and trying to decide which kayak to purchase. I’ve narrowed it down to the Hobie Quest, Heritage Redfish, WS T140 and WS Ride. I’ll be fishing marshes of SE Louisiana. Any help greatly appreciated!

All are good kayaks, can’t really go
wrong with any of them, except if the Quest has the Mirage drive, it won’t do much good in water less than 18". The Ride is a bit of a barge. I’d go with the Tarpon 140 myself, but if you can get Yak-A-Lou to respond, he fishes the same type of waters and may have some good thoughts on your choices. One thing in favor of the Tarpon, it has great resale value and attraction.

Phoenix
The Huricane Phoenix 140 is almost a clone of the Tarpon 140 but made from polcarbonate and only 52 lbs. They are currently revamping it for better fishablilty and will be coming ut with a 16’ version. The Ride is a barge and noisy. It has a lot of wave slap.

You’re in luck!!!
You MUST be at the public launch in Port Fourchon on 4-22-06 at Noon. It’s time for PaddlePalooza III - our semi annual fishing rodeo! If you can bring a pirogue, canoe or other paddlecraft you can participate. E-mail me for details.

Anywho… At noon on the the 22nd you’ll be able to paddle all four of those boats (I think) and talk to people who fish from them. Warning: Each owner is usually biased toward his own boat.

I fish from a T-140 (among other boats). I’m pleased with it and would buy another one.

The Quest is a masterfully designed boat. Great layout. I think the only negative I had on my list for it was the price.

The Heritage gained some popularity after I made my choice. All I know is it’s fairly popular and very suitable. I think it’s the most affordable of the ones you listed. Is that correct?