Buying for Surf

I am new to the world of paddling and looking for some tips on what I should look for in a surf / wave ski? I am about 95kg (210lbs) and looking to use it in small surf and calm water

More info would be helpful.

– Last Updated: Sep-24-06 10:10 PM EST –

Where do you live?
Surf specific boats and and waveskis are meant for riding waves like surfboards. You may be thinking of a "Surfski" that is good for paddling in ocean swells and also on flat water.

A lot depends on where you live. If you live in a climate that has warm water and nice regular and consistent waves a waveski is a great way to go. Good skis to look at are Island and wavemaster skis, if you are in the US. If you are in Southern California I have a Wavemaster meant for beginners and intermediates for sale. Infinity Waveskis are nice if you like longboard surfing style, they are rare outside of Southern California. Dekka and Tsunami skis are available in Aus. and NZ. There are some other brands available in the UK. Lots of folks start surfing on Sit On Top Kayaks. Good ones to look at your size are the Wildness Systems Kaos and Cobra Strike. The Strike and kaos are OK for paddling on flat water but you woud not want to go more than a few miles at a time. Ocean Kayak Frenzy and Scrambler are nice boats for beginners who want to try a little surfing and a little paddling..