Buying the perfect sea kayak

Hi

I’m looking for advice regarding sea kayaks.

I’m 5’8” and weigh 160 pounds. I have about 5 years of paddling experience, mainly from kayaking on rivers (not white water) and in the ocean. I’m interested in buying a sea kayak but find it very difficult to choose the right one.

I’m looking for a kayak with the following specifications and characteristics:

• Long and narrow (fast)
  • Suitable for multi-day touring and expeditions
  • Suitable for rough conditions (good secondary stability)
  • Quality all the way
  • Comfortable multi-adjustable seat
  • Large hatches +/- a day hatch
  • Price: Around 2000 - 2500 $
  • Material: Fiberglas, hard plastic or Airalite.

I’ve found a lot of reviews on specific models from different companies, however I’m having troubles finding a website where different sea kayak models are tested, compared and rated with respect to different aspects (manoeuvrability, weight, quality of materials, hatches etc).

I’m considering something like Eclipse 17.0 from Perception.

I’m perfectly aware that finding the ideal sea kayak for my personal needs requires more than just reading reviews and comparisons, however a thorough evaluation and rating of different sea kayak models by some experienced kayakers would be a great help for me when choosing the models to try out before buying a sea kayak.

Sea Kayaker & demo, demo, demo
Sea Kayaker Magazine has the most comprehesive reviews of sea kayaks. Many on this board have bought what they gelt was the ‘best’ kayak for themselves --and that turns out to be many different kayaks.

Read the reviews here.

And the most important is to test paddle as many models as possible. This is maybe the best time of year to demo boats.

for the specs you’re listing
and the money you’re willing to spend,

your best bet would be to look at used fiberglass.