Calling all Spider Crack Detectives

Hello Friends,

Noob question here:

I am currently “restoring” a 70s fiberglass Mohawk. In some areas there are spider cracks visible. As stated above, I am a total noob and I can’t tell if the paint on it is above gelcoat/is gelcoat, whatever. After watching some videos regarding gelcoat spider crack repair, I’m pretty sure I can fix it, no problem. However, if it’s not gel coat, would I be able to shave down these cracks and fill them with gelcoat until smooth, or should I use some other fiberglass filler? I’m including a photo of some of the cracks; I’m not sure whether it will be helpful or not vis-à-vis the advice you’d be able or provide.

I apologize if these questions have incredibly obvious answers; there’s just too much conflicting info out there on YouTube and I’m facing a case of choice paralysis.

Thanks in advance,

Andrew

Looks like weathered and cracked gel coat. Gel coat is a polyester material that provides a bit of abrasion protection to the hull and protects the resin from UV degradation. But it adds no strength and is largely there because it looks nice, or did look nice.

In my opinion having the entire hull re-gel coated would involve more trouble and expense than the boat is probably worth. If it were mine I would start by giving it a good cleaning then wet sanding the entire hull starting with around 400 grit paper and working down to 1500 grit or 2000 grit. You could also try a marine or automotive rubbing compound.

After that apply one or two coats of a low viscosity “penetrating epoxy” such as System Three Clear Coat. Then cover with a couple coats of a decent marine varnish to provide UV protection. Alternatively, you could paint the hull after the penetrating epoxy.

2 Likes