Calypso 12' or Dirgio 106 XT

I am a beginner kayaker and was considering purchasing either the Calypso 12’ or the Dirgio 106XT. I did not see too many reviews on the Calypso. I will be kayaking at the lake always. Boats travel the lake a lot on weekends but weekdays it is really calm.

I am 5’6" and weigh 120 lbs. I was not sure which boat would be better for my body build. I also want to have some speed but have the stability of the boat. I think I will be board quickly if the boat has no speed. I saw LL Bean was doing a package deal with Carlisle and or Calypso paddles, PFD and cockpit cover for $799.00 total with no shipping.

Cabela’s has the Drigio 106 XT for $699. I would then have to get a life jacket and paddles also.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Calypso, hands down.
The Calypso was designed for petite women - you seem to be about perfectly ideal for it.

Yes, it’s more narrow than the Dirigo, but you’ll find within 10 minutes that you’re just as stable in both boats.

Do you live near a LL Bean? If so, you can try the Calypso out on one of the “Walk On Adventures”.

Random Comments
I don’t know the Dirigo, but the Calypso has been a decent first boat for a couple of women in our local group.

As to speed, why are you concerned about that - are you going to be paddling with a group of others and want to keep up with them? If it is something like that, you need to allocate some money for a couple of early lessons on a good forward stroke and make sure you get a paddle with a pretty light swing weight. The latter costs money in an adverse fashion - lighter paddles cost more.

People tend to look too much at the boat and too little to the paddler/paddle package in assessing speed.

As I said, a couple of women have found the Calypso to be a good first boat. One in particular who really likes speed spent just a season before moving up to a longer boat though.

Calypso 12’ or Dirgio 106 XT