Camping from a Kayak

I am fairly new to the kayaking world and I want to start doing overnighters and eventualy some extended tripping. The rest of my family has never been real keen on camping :frowning: and so I don’t have very much gear. I am working on a limited budget ($150-$200) but I need some fairly nice gear(tent, campstove, drybags, etc.) to start my collection. the two most pressing items right now being a tent and campstove (you can improvise drybags) :). If anyone has any suggestions as far as what equipment to get and where to get it I would be very greatfull for the info.

check
Cheaperthandirt.com or sportsmans guide for cheap , affordable tents. Mil. surplus is always low cost. As for stoves some surplus are ok or ya can buy a decent 1 for about $50-60 thru a camp store.

Starter Kit
I have bought many thousands of dollars of camping gear over the years, but I found less is better and it does not need to be expensive…

A 7’X 7’Coleman tent on sale at Big Five for about $60-70

I did spend the bucks for a nice Thermarest mattress at about $80, but you can get one about as good at Walmart for about $30. Kelty is a good one.

A 4# Walmart sleeping bag is good enough for your region most of the year, if not, throw in an old Army blanket, or better yet a pauncho liner.

For one person, a single burner coleman propane stove for about $20 at Walmart (I just make coffee in the morning and soup at night)

I use a small single mantle Coleman or Primus propane latern I bought for about $30

Also a nice Coleman camp chair for about $30

A coffepot, and a soup pot, and you are in business.

I once spent two months in the Sierras with just the gear listed and a couple pairs of BDUs

Here is afew items in your budget…

– Last Updated: Jun-03-04 7:14 PM EST –

Here is a list that will have your budget in about $220. Check out www.cheaperthandirt.com & www.sportsmansguide.com ..... click on free catalog & you will get new ones every month or so!!