Can I drive this far with 2 kayaks?

I am new to kayaking and am about to buy 2 of them for me and my partner. We will then head out for a long road trip.

Can we drive thousands of miles with the kayaks on our roof in a nice rack from yakima or thule?

We also want stack them sideways so that the cargo carrier fits on the roof too.

Has anyone traveled long distances with 2 kayaks on their roof?

Any suggestions?

and how do you lock it?

thanks!

Lymesurfer

I drove from Reno to Madison WI
and back last year with 1 or 2 kayaks on my roof. I just have a shell with a rack and used foam blocks. No problems at all.

Yup No Problem
I second the warning about the sideways stackers, this can reallly increase drag, which at high speed increases with the square of air velocity.

Also be careful when you pull into parking garages, motels etc with low clearance, it’s easy to forget you have kayaks up there, the lower the profile the better. Not that I am suggesting this but you can pack small items inside the kayaks, but don’t over load your roof rack.

Really?

– Last Updated: May-07-06 9:04 PM EST –

Please explain why a kayak on edge in a j-cradle creates more drag / wind-resistence than a kayak upright on a roof rack.

The kayak in a j-cradle presents a higher profile, yes, but the surface area of the kayak profile remains the same.

(I don't doubt that you might be right, but I need additional convincing if I am to jettison my very classy j-cradles. I certainly wouldn't mind improving the gas mileage.)

Well aerodynamic drag increases
with the square of speed period. Whether you are at low, medium or high speed drag increases at the square of speed. However more power is required when cruising at highway speeds to overcome air drag then at low speeds. So minimizing air drag will definitely help fuel efficiency.