Can I handle a rudder and 15'? Lincoln or Stellar?

Hey folks,
I am ready to upgrade to a new lighter and faster kayak, but I need some advice. I’m having trouble deciding amongst three kayaks, Stellar’s 14 or 15 foot and Lincoln’s Chebeague.

I have been paddling for about five years, but very casually, nothing serious. All my paddling is on lakes and small rivers in Upstate New York, so pretty flat water. I’ve been paddling a Wilderness Systems Pamlico 100 (10 foot). When I go out with my paddling group, I have a hard time keeping up with everyone since my boat is shorter and slower, and I would like to be able to have something easier to paddle.

Right now I’m leaning toward the Stellar 15’. My only reservations are about the weight (how can they say the 14’ and 15’ are the same weight, when it’s the same material and also the 15’ has a rudder added?) and whether I am “skilled” enough to paddle the 15’. I don’t want to feel unstable, although I guess I’ve got decent skills now after a few years. I have also never used a rudder, would it be easy to get comfortable?

I’m a 5’4" woman, 140 lbs.

Any advice appreciated.

How many layers of fabric are there? I have the same length kevlar carbon boats but one has much more fabric and resin. A tougher layup. The weights are not the same.

Its best you try them out. I bet that neither of the Stellar boats will please you but the LV 14 might. Don’t let the “baginner to advanced” scale spook you. Its often better to buy a little more boat than you are initially comfortable with as you will adapt to it.
The rudder has nothing to do with your skill level… Its for keeping course on rivers and tidal currents and following wind. Unless you anticipate paddling Lake George and the Sacandaga and the Hudson etc you don’t need it It can get wrecked on bony rivers.
You have to try on kayaks. Like womens pants the devil is in the fit.