Can I store kayaks on a transport trailer?

I just bought 2 pristine Hobie kayaks…1 is an Outback and the other a Pro Angler, both pedal drive systems. To transport the kayaks, I also bought a 2 wide kayak trailer with pads for the rails to protect the hulls.

My question involves storage: I have an open area on the end of my shed that is covered with a roof to keep sun off the kayaks. I plan to store the boats on the trailer so they will sit atop the pads…not strapped down as in transport, but sitting atop the padded rails. I also plan to pick up a couple of lightweight covers to protect the kayaks from dust and trash that gets blown around like from a lawn mower or windy days in general.

Will this storage plan damage or warp the hulls since the kayak is resting on 2 pressure points? Not being familiar with Hobie’s materials, I have no experience to know if this storage plan will be an issue causing hull warp, or will this be ok?

Thanks for advice!

Maybe. Depends on your pads and their ability to spread out the weight f the kayaks. The larger the pads and the more they spread out the load, the less likely you will have issues.

And depends a bit on how hot it could get where they are at (the hotter, the more issue you could have).

Can you post pictures of your setup?

1 Like

They should be okay if they are empty. Strap them down loosely so the wind does not blow them away. I would cover them with a tarp even if they are under a roof.

1 Like

Can you store them deck down? That is how I store mine on a 2x4 rack and have never had any deformation.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies! Good idea to strap the kayaks very loosely during storage to prevent wind from catching them and flipping off the trailer.