Can this be repaired?

I have a 14’ fiberglass canoe that I really love. Nothing fancy, but it suits me just fine. Last fall, it fell off the roof of the car during transport and the stern was smashed pretty good. Is this repairable?

I don’t care if it looks pretty, but I’d like it to be highly functional. I’ve never done anything like this before but am a pretty handy person.

Any and all advice welcome. Thanks!

As a new user, I can only post one photo at a time. Here’s a close-up:

And one from the other side:

Yes it can be repaired. If you’re asking if it can be repaired I will assume you don’t have a lot of experience on this type of repair. You’d have to take it somewhere to have it done. Not sure how much you would want to spend to repair it. That’s a good bit of work to repair it all.

I’d call that a rebuild.

1 Like

Sorry to hear of the mishap.

I would say if you were to take it someplace and have the work done it would cost more than the canoe is worth. DIY if you don’t value your time highly I think the materials only it could be a nice rewarding project as you have a history with the boat.

There are numerous videos on line showing how to work in fiberglass and it doesn’t involve a lot of real special equipment. You want to work in a well ventilated area and you want to use proper PPE when grinding and applying the resin.

The repair will have to be done from inside and outside and if it was mine I wouldn’t care if there was extra thickness added to the inside but I would want the outside to look close to original when finished. Maybe a full paint when done to the outside rather than full gel coat replacement. :canoe:

1 Like

It is probably repairable but may well not be worth the investment in time and money for materials. And I agree with bud 16415, it will almost certainly not be worth it to pay someone else to repair it.