Canadian Style Paddling???

I am pretty new to canoeing and have heard a lot about Canadian style paddling. I think I understand a bit about what it is based upon watching this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4RJAeP7pDI

but have some questions. I understand that this involves paddling the canoe heeled over solo. I paddle my canoe heeled over a little but not to the point where it is completely on edge / gunwale almost in water. Would that be considered “canadian style”?

Next, what is the difference in the stroke?

Last, the video above shows a sculling side slip AWAY from the power side. I can easily do a sculling draw but this is a bit trickier and I have been having trouble replicating this maneuver…it is pretty cool and I want to learn it. Any tips?

thanks

Matt

first tip
Notice that the maneuvers are always demonstrated on glassy smooth water. Right there I know I’ve never had a chance to practice it. Heeling the canoe over is good if you are paddling an oversized or underloaded canoe - it reduces the wetted perimeter and shortens the length-in-water so it turns easier.

You should work up to the Canadian stroke, after you’ve mastered going in a straight line with a simple j-stroke. Then it’s just a matter of morphing into an underwater recovery stroke that doubles as a corrective stroke.

But I think the real efficiency is that them there Canadians can cover a kilometer with that stroke faster than a Usa’er can cover a mile with a j-stroke. :wink:

box stroke?
are you referring to the box stroke where you just slice the paddle forward back to the power phase of the stroke?

I have not tried that but looks fairly straightforward with practice. What is the correction part of it?

Matt

You have to say “Eh” every other stroke.

Sculling pry