Canadienne - Good Buy?

-- Last Updated: Sep-08-07 11:27 PM EST --

I'm new to paddling and My wife and I have purchased our first canoe. Through all of the infomation that we found online, it seems like there are quite a few who love the Canadienne. We were off to Sams Club to buy the canoe they had, PE 14' molded with cup holders etc... They were selling out and only had nine left in Lakeland FL. We stopped on our way at Canoe Country Outfitters in St. Petersburg, FL. and we got some excellent advice. After looking at many new PE Mad River, Guide 160's, we found a used '89 Canadienne, Red, Fiber Glass 17'2" in pristene condition in their "back room". We looked at it and couldn't pass it up for only $149.00 more than the Guide. We paid $749.00 and they threw in a carrier for my GMC Sonoma Pick UP. It has just a couple of very minor scratches in the gel coat that can be polished and not even seen. The cane seats are perfect and it looks like it has vinyl gunwales and bow and stern decks. This canoe also has a third seat, is this an add on or was there a 3 seat option on the Canadienne in '89? I was just wondering if anyone has any comments or that can tell us if we got a fair deal. Any other suggestions for "must haves" on our canoe would be appreciated also. We are looking forward to paddling many FL waterways.
Thanks for any information.

After the sale…
…the only one who can determine if it was a good

or bad deal is you.

I’ve been accused of making bad deals with boats.

Know what? I don’t care! So far I’ve been ecstatic

with the choices I’ve made.

If you are happy with the boat and it does what you

want it to, and you are having more fun that you

ever thought was possible, then it’s a good deal.

PFD’s of course are a must. A painter. extra

paddle.

Undoubtedly . . .
I have no idea what prices are like in your region, but you will certainly find the Old Town in glass will outperform anything you could get at a big-box store.