Canoe atop Honda Accord

I’m new at cartopping and need some instruction. The husband is going to put a 17’ Royalex canoe on top of our Honda Accord, and we’ve been given a set of used Thule roof racks and clamps (which were used on a Pontiac Bonneville. To clarify, the clamps are used to attach the racks to the car). Question is: while I assume the racks are universal, are the clamps also? And if not, can someone recommend clamps or the most appropriate system in general for cartopping on an Accord? Thanks!

Clamp Adapters

– Last Updated: Feb-11-08 4:39 PM EST –

A friend of mine just switched cars, from a Toyota Echo to a Honda Civic. All her Thule rack componants remained the same EXCEPT the adapters that allow the clamps to fit a particular car. Others here will know more than I about this situation, but it appears that the adapters are the key componant. They aren't cheap, but they are cheaper than all new clamps. The Thule website ought to provide the information you need, as far as what parts to buy to make your rack fit your particular car.

Never owned Thule racks, but have
carried canoes on three Accords ('90, 2000, 2008) with Yakima racks.

I’m sure Thule has the hardware to adapt their racks to your particular Accord, and it shouldn’t cost much. You might need to call the USA Thule home office, because in addition to the hardware, you will probably need to know how far apart the towers should be on the bars, and also exactly where to mount the towers and bars relative to the corner of the front windshield and each other.

Thule is good stuff. You will be pleased with the result. Oh, and consider getting a “fairing” because the racks may be noisy otherwise when you are driving around without the canoe on top.

Also pay attention to
the weight limits from either the Thule/Yakima site and your car’s owner manual.