Canoe for 1 adult & 2 kids?

I am a newbie, and have been trolling through newbie posts for canoes. It seems like most are for two adults and kids, but I’m in a different boat, no pun intended!

I’m looking for a canoe for me (200lb,athletic), an 8 year old boy and a 11 year old girl. Which means I’m the main paddler and carrier. Any suggestions?

I’ve looked at a Old Town GUIDE 169…not on their website but they made some for Dick’s. Also a Mad River Passenger 16’…I’m open to others and Craigs list…any suggestions?

I’ve got a Subaru Outback, I’m hoping to find something that’s manageable for the car.

THANK YOU!

David

Kind of depends on a number of things

– Last Updated: May-24-11 4:36 PM EST –

What kind of water do you want to paddle?

What is the weight of your kids?

Do you anticipate that either of your children will be able to effectively help you paddle?

If you mainly plan to paddle flat water and easy streams you should be able to trim the boat by putting both of your kids in front of the center yoke. The smaller could sit on a small, folding chair behind the bow seat (sold by Cabela's and others: http://www.themanregistry.com/gifts/cabelas-folding-canoe-chair.html) and the larger could sit on the bow seat and paddle. Another option might be a tandem canoe with a center seat like the Mad River Malecite or the Wenonah Solo Plus. Or you might be able to replace the center thwart/yoke in another boat with a wide center seat mounted to the gunwales.

If you replace a center yoke with a center seat suspended from the gunwales it won't be as rigid as a yoke and you may need to install a new shorter thwart behind the center seat.

Paddling flat water or easy streams shouldn't be too bad once you learn to do a decent J-stroke (if you don't already know how) as long as the boat is trimmed, even if the bow paddler(s) are not doing much.