Canoe for Farm Pond for 2 People

I am a newbie to canoeing and have a 2 acre farm pond. Looking to get a canoe that 2 of us can go out and fish out of and just paddle around. I have looked for advice on the forums and just get back to the sarnac 14 but then read that it is not what many would choose for this application.

What opinions are out there to look at for this application that will lat a long time with proper storage and is stable for a newbie? I have been on kayaks and other boats many, many times but never bought one for myself.

Go aluminum
Go with an aluminum canoe. You can leave it by the pond with out worry. It will be plenty stable to fish out as well

Brian

Why not?
With a 2 acre farm pond you are looking at a beach chair for two. Fish etc

Usually I don’t look for cushy seats but again it’s for a happy hour use.

My two cents based on experience
I recommend getting an aluminum canoe. We did but I became addicted to canoeing so things progressed from there. Here’s my tale of woe.

About 30 years ago we bought a house on 20 acres that includes a 7 acre pond. At that time I had not been canoeing in about 20 years.

We bought a 17 foot aluminum canoe to paddle around the pond with our 60 pound dog. Soon we found ourselves doing nearby rivers with the local Sierra Club and other local groups.

As time went on my wife’s interest in canoeing waned and she did not want to go out as often as I did so I bought a kayak.

Then I started doing multi-night downriver camping trips and decided to get a solo canoe to haul my gear. While researching solo canoes I discovered paddling.net.

An old pnetter posted a trip report about meeting other pnetters and paddling the Edisto River in South Carolina. Someone responded to that post by asking if there were a place we could do something like that in the Midwest.