Canoe Hunting?

I don’t see any posts about hunting from a canoe, which I’ve been doing for nearly 30 years. Seems to me it’s a perfect solution to the age old issue of getting the game out once the kill is made. It also gets you where roads can’t, which is important if you don’t like the Kmart variety of hunting. Anyway, I was wondering if some of you out there in internet land also hunt from a canoe, and what kind of hunts you take. Right now, I’m planning a 5 day solo hunt in northern lake country (brrrr).

The perfect hunting canoe
I’m not a hunter but I ran into a builder who makes a canoe that he designed to be big enough to stuff a deer into. I was looking for a decked canoe at the time. If I was looking for a hunting boat I would have bought this one in a heartbeat. Read my review here.

http://www.paddling.net/Reviews/showReviews.html?prod=2342

Here’s his website.

http://www.superiorcanoes.com/

Just started last year
I did a little duck hunting from the canoe last winter. Actually didn’t hunt from the canoe, but use it to haul two hunters and decoys & other gear to islands that don’t get much hunting pressure.

I’ve been working on a plan to do my deer hunting in a similar fashion, but it will probably be a solo activity also. I was going to do it this year but didn’t feel like I was really ready for it. Next year for sure though. I have the route and the hunting area all picked out, and I will be using the Prospector for that. It will haul everything I need - going in and coming out.

This year, I am using a canoe to get to a quail spot and maybe for ducks again. I don’t hunt a lot these days, but combining hunting and paddling gives it a new twist that makes it more interesting for me. And yeah - I thought of that aspect of an easy carry.

BTW, Beaverjack
A 5-day canoe trip with big-game hunting sounds like a great time. I’d be interested to see a trip report and to know what works and what doesn’t (as far as the canoeing and camping aspect).