Canoe Newbie

We are a family of 4, 11 yo boy, 8 yo girl, 6 yo boy. I would like to introduce them to canoeing and wanted to know what would be the best canoe for 4 people with the least amount of tipping. We would be on lakes. I am a novice and the 11 yo would be paddling with me.

Looking forward to some great suggestions.

Its a worthwhile investment to take
lessons. You will tip sometime. Better to learn now how to deal with it.

The other reason is that if you want that big a group in one boat you have enough to pay attention to. Your skills should be solid before taking them all out. That includes rescue skills.

The specific boat can wait. Don’t put the cart before the horse.

I have a somewhat different take -

– Last Updated: Jun-12-12 8:58 PM EST –

Consider that the vast majority of canoe paddlers would generally paddle with one or two - not four people. I think if you are learning to paddle as a family that is wonderful. Consider buying two canoes. It is a tough thing for the most experienced paddler to be safe with four in a boat.

Or maybe buy one 17 foot boat to start but paddle two at a time. A used old town tripper would be a good choice as a starter boat.

OOh my aching back!
Remember how often you get on the water will depend on how easily you can transport a boat. Yes its possible for a single woman to load a Tripper on a car but its not high on the fun list.

There are sizeable boats that fit four. The problem is the kids are spread out in age. Three years from now you will probably need two boats. Now not so much. However all the kids are old enough to paddle. Yes even the six year old.

Maybe buy a normal sized Kevlar canoe and have special time with each child separately? That way also you can learn who wants to paddle and who could care less. I bet you will have one of the latter at least?

Wenonah Spirit II