Canoe on car roof rack

I’m a novice canoer with a very basic question. I have a 15 foot kevlar canoe and a tubular bar roof rack. The canoe fits the bar with room to spare. Do I carry the canoe inverted or right side up? Does inversion catch more air and increase wind resistance and strain on the canoe?

inverted
for canoes you want to carry them upside down on the rack.

You also
want to worry a bit about the canoe yawing (twisting relative to the car) about up there. Crosswinds and passing trucks will cause that. If it gets too far sideways wind pressure can cause damage. If the rack bars are adjustable, put them as far apart as you can get them. Using bow lines, right and left, will minimize yaw and help to assure the boat stays with the car in case of rack or strap failure. Most rack systems can also mount gunwale blocks which prevent yaw.

Peter

Canoes
Like they said above. Definitely get the canoe brackets and 2 good straps. With a little practice you can put the canoe on your car and tie it all up in about 5 minutes - no knots or ropes to fuss with.

Great info right here
Several articles on carrying boats -

http://www.paddling.net/guidelines/showCategory.html?category=14

For me -

Inverted.

Homemade Gunwale clips to prevent sliding on the bar.

Tied across the bars, of course, and at tied from the bow to the front tow hooks.

Not much wind catching, but if you do
find a cover…it’ll help. Fwiw, tiedowns from bars to thwarts are money. Tying the thwart to both bars is usually best if you only have one thwart close to a bar.

Realize that it’s going beyond the minimal, but adds a significant amount of solidness to the whole setup.

Upside down on the gunnels, like…
every other long time canoe owner does.

Jack L

Move canoe BACK!