Canoe or Kayak?

Absolute newbie. My wife and I camp and I would like to get something that we could paddle on lakes, and slow rivers.

We think we would like to paddle together and am not sure whether an tandem kayak or a 2 person canoe would be the best choice. I had also considered an Advanced Elements inflatable but I worry that the performance will be so poor that we will be frustrated.

I would love to hear any advise. The choices are almost overwhelming.

Try a few out first
Get to some place where they rent tandem kayaks, and try one out.

Then try a tandem canoe out

They jokingly call a tandem kayak a “divorce boat” and many times I can see why. The two paddlers have to be or should be in sync. to prevent banging their paddles together, and many times we have seen couples yelling at each other.

My wife and I paddle both canoes and layaks and when we are in the tandem canoe, we like that the best, but when we are in our single kayaks we like them best.

We used to race a high end tandem kayak, but it was not a good boat for just putzing around in, so as much as we enjoyed racing in it we sold it.

No one can tell you what is the best for you, so you should absolutely try both out before you decide.

Ideal situation would be like us. Get a tandem canoe, and two single kayaks along with about ten more different types, makes and models!

Good luck

Jack L

Try paddling together first
Take a few tours in a tandem, maybe get a half day of basic instruction from someone, anything to spend time seeing if it feels like tandem paddling will work for you. As JackL indicates, it works very well for many. But it is a bad idea for a lot of couples as well (like my husband and I), who do just fine in different boats.

Tandem Rec Paddling

– Last Updated: Feb-05-11 9:25 AM EST –

My wife and I tandem kayak because she has some back problems and I need to do most of the paddling which is fine. We do rec flat water paddling, lakes and slow rivers. We absolutely love it.