Canoe paddle advice

I am looking for some input on canoe paddles. I have a swift shearwater. I am 6’4" @ 220lbs and trip with around 50 pounds of gear. I was thinking of either getting a bent shaft or a traditional paddle. I have interest in a whiskey jack and Kettlewell. Obviously the chioces are very different. I am asking those with experience wich they prefer for solo tripping on both big and small water in all types of conditions from big waves and wind to flat quiet water. I look forward to your responces.

Bob.

Consider a double bent
I use a Sawyer Manta double bent and like it alot. I just ordered a Whiskey Jack Double Whiskey (their double bent) to try next spring as it looks very similar to the Sawyer but is about 5 ounces lighter. I have used both straight shaft paddles, bent shaft and double bends and I prefer the double bends. I have no experience with a more traditional paddle like an otter tail or beaver tail.

Canoe paddle advice
Bents are great if your goal is to get from point A-B as quickly as possible and if you like the hit and switch style of paddling. I’m not intimately familiar with the Shearwater, but from the specifications I suspect it is a bit wite to efficiently paddle hit and switch.

I generally prefer to take my time, enjoying the journey itself. The destination (if any) will still be there whenever I arrive. Straight shafts (in my humble opinion) are far better suited to enjoying the journey. I can use a wide range of strokes/styles to work different muscles and add variety to my travels. If I’m poking along the edges of a pond or stream exploring the contours of the shorline I can use a variety of techniques to turn the canoe or side slip it as necessary.