Canoe paddles - how to select?

Trying to learn how to select paddles for canoe. I’m 6’1, sort of heavy built. And I’m 100% beginner. Canoe is 16’ long, if there is a difference for different boat. As a novice, I want something not too expencive, but not garbage also. And durable.

Please help…

Paddle Fit

– Last Updated: Jun-15-10 7:41 PM EST –

The paddle shaft should fit from your top-hand to the water. Longer sets the blade deeper; scratches stone and upsets waterflow. Shorter REALLY upsets waterflow around the blade and encourages air to ventilate down the backface, robbing you of power. So we fit shaft length to your body, stance in the boat, and paddle configuration.

Take any longish canoe paddle; grab the grip and drop your hand in front of your body; careful to keep the wrist bent and the blade over your head. The distance from the grip to the shaft's intersection with your hair line is a good number to remember; that's the shaft length you need for a straight paddle when kneeling in a canoe. [Advanced solo paddlers will add an inch to have a longer shaft for cross strokes and maneuvers.] The concept with the longish shaft is that kneeling paddlers can rotate to forward catches, or blade insertion points that keep the straight blade square to the stroke from catch to knee.

If you're intending to sit instead of kneel, you'll want a 12 dg bent paddle to match your reduced range of motion. Fit shaft length to your nose in ~ high seated hulls like Bells and Mad Rivers. With low seating, like most WeNoNah's fit grip to shaft length to your lips. Sitting paddles are bent because one cannot rotate enough to reach a forward catch. The blade is bent to square to the stroke in the range a little forward of the knee to mid thigh.

Canadian style paddling, where a tandem is paddled at a standing heel requires a very short shafted straight because the distance to the water is reduced, but that is a special case. Shaft length usually to the lips.