Canoe Paddles

Hello everyone. I am new to canoe ownership, so please bare with me. After a lot of research on the net, and talking with a knowledgeable dealer, I have decided on an Old Town Discovery 164. I will pick this boat up soon.

However, I am having trouble finding info on paddles. The boat will be used mostly on inland lakes, ponds, and slow rivers. Sometimes in quite shallow areas. Are there certain paddles that work best for this? Or do I just find some that I like and that fit me properly? Price is an issue as well.

Also, I eventually want to try some light white water canoeing in the distant future. Do you recommend a different style paddle for this? Or are there paddles that do well at everything? Kind of a jack of all trades, master of none?

Are there other issues I should look at? Are there paddle buyers guides or guidelines on the web that you can point me too?

Thanks.

just one guy’s opinion
Mohawk’s 8" T-grip paddles are great, inexpensive, lightweight beater paddles. They’ll hold up just fine to whitewater, too.

https://www.mohawkcanoes.com/paddles.htm

I’m 5’10" and use a 57" for kneeling in a solo whitewater boat. Would probably go a couple inches longer for sitting in a boat like the one you’re getting. If you’re taller or shorter than me, then adjust accordingly in paddle length.

There are two types and many materials
- Straight shaft and bent shaft.

Of the materials, the lighter the paddle is, the less fatigued you will be at the end of the day, but the lighter the paddle is the more it will cost and usuakky the more delicate it is.

Material choice is wood, aluminum, fibreglass and carbon fiber and el cheapo plastic

Aluminum may sound light, but they usually have a plastic blade and are the heaviest, but also the toughest.

Wood can be heavy or light, and there is nothing more beautiful than a light weight fine crafted wooden paddle.

Fiberglass is the middle man.

Carbon fibre is very light and is what most racers use.