Canoe Purchase Advice

Hi,

I am in a bit of quandry in trying to select a canoe for my needs. I have about 5 years experience with canoes on small lakes and rivers, but havent been out on the water for over 10 years. Now I want to bring my family along, but also want to be able to go solo and do some fly fishing. My 2 kids are 7 & 10, and I expect they will want to ride along for a couple of years before they are really able to handle something on thier own.

Expected percentages of time for use:

(2) adults + (2) kids = 25%

(1) adult + (2) kids = 50%

(1) adult = 25%

I have done a little bit of downslecting, but am in need of a little guidance.

At this point my most likely options are the Wenonah Spirit II (17’) or Clipper Tripper (17’6"). From my read of posted reviews either of these should serve my needs. Downsides; Spirit II suffers from oil canning, and the Tripper would be a bit tough to handle solo.

Questions:

Does the oil canning problem with the Spirit disapper with the Kevlar layup?

Can I load the front end of the Tripper so that it is manageable solo?

Did I overlook another model/manufacturer that would be better suited for my needs?

Thanks very much in advance for your help.

Paul

For your family … get the Spirit II
If you were planning a long expedition, I’d say get the composite Tripper for it’s efficiency and serious all-around seaworthiness. But for your more everyday family uses, the Spirit II makes sense. I’d recommend getting the Ivory colored Royalex to keep the temperature of the hull lower during transport in hot sun. It’s also highly visible for safety.