Canoe recommendation?

Hi everyone - newbie here. I’m looking for a canoe recommendation. We have young kids - 3 of them, ages 2, 4, and 6. Including me and my wife, that would be 5 people in a canoe. So we’re definitely looking for a large canoe, and one that’s going to be stable. We’ll mostly be paddling on quiet lakes, but we might occasionally take it for a spin on some of the tidal inlets on Cape Cod. Looking for something that is decent quality, reasonably comfortable, and affordable. With so many canoes on the market, I can’t figure out which one to pick. I was looking at the Pelicans, but read that there are some concerns with quality. Does anybody have a recommendation? Thanks in advance!

Can’t help you with the …
tidal inlets but for quiet lakes and rivers, we have a Wenonah Spirit II. 17’ Big enough for our kids (2) and our black lab. (you can substitute a kid for the dog) :slight_smile:

17’ Grumman
the 17’ grumman is stable, predictable, lasts forever and can be had cheap used.

Another good choice would be an Old Town Tripper.

Get something at least 17’, and avoid anything that claims to be “fast” or “efficient” as they usually have more rounded bottoms and less beam.

I agree up to a point, but our first
canoe was 18.5’ and had a definite shallow arch. The kids were young, but adapted to the lack of initial stability quite well.

I’d suggest an 18’ Grumman, if they chanced to find one!

be wary of a large canoe
that floats high. As of now there isnt alot of load in it…your kids are small.

I found out with my own Wenonah Minnesota II that in Long Island Soud it floats too high and sitting in it with our high centers of gravity rogue waves would flip it.

Find a paddle shop near you that talks optimum load range and secondary stability. And fer petes sake test paddle before you buy…you cant be sure about a car by kicking the tires.