Canoe Rigging

Mad River Eclipse (tandem) Royalex canoe 16’. I’m new to canoes and want to check on how to secure float bags. The Eclipse has NO installed foam floats in bow/stern. I would like to use float bags when on the river. I see videos of people drilling holes in their canoes for lashing float bags/gear down. I prefer to not drill holes into my canoe.

Would installing d-rings along the inside of canoe be sufficient? I was thinking 4 in bow and 4 in stern, and eventually 4 in mid for gear when the time comes. I will be doing some weekend trips.

If I use the Vynabond (as suggested) to secure the d-rings will it weaken the interior hull material?

Thanks!

Dan

Most screw the d-rings into the gunwales
I am leery of Vynabonding them to the top vinyl layer, because that vinyl layer is not super-bonded to the ABS structural layer. I can skim the vinyl off with a low angle chisel. The bases of d-rings are small and don’t distribute loads well to the Royalex.

There’s a reason that so many ww paddlers drill the hull to lace in the float bags. It is the most secure method, and avoids screw damage to the gunwales.

Pad eyes
One common treatment for restraining air bags is to screw nylon pad eyes under the gunwales. Then lace your cord through the pad eyes. Usually, a D-ring is vinyl cemented to the floor of the canoe and the lacing extends to the d-ring to keep the bag from sliding forward or back.

You can find nylon pad eyes online if they are not locally available.

Drilling holes through the hull right below the gunwales is a lot easier and probably at least as secure as under-gunwale pad eyes.

~~Chip

Drilling hull versus drilling gunwales

– Last Updated: Apr-28-15 4:45 PM EST –

Agree with what EZ and Boozetalkin have said. In addtition, if you compare drilling the gunwales with drilling the hull, you do far less to weaken the boat by drilling the hull.