Canoe Rod Holders

-- Last Updated: Apr-26-06 10:59 AM EST --

Anyone have pics of rod holders they have mounted on their canoe? I have a couple driftmasters I was considering mounting but wanted to see some other ideas first.
Mount them near the paddler? Mount them on both sides mid-canoe near the thwart (for trolling)?
I will probably pick up a crate for tackle storage and add a couple of vertical pvc rod holders.

E-mail to nuthouse@surfbest.net

Milk Crate and PVC Pipe
From all I have gleaned from this site (and a few others)it is the only way to go. You won’t be stuck with something that’s always in your way. If you don’t like where it is you can move it. It also serves as a very handy tote. I put my lunch, drinks, sun block etc in it. Cost goes without saying. You don’t need to cut or modify your hull in any way. And it floats.

I won’t leave home without mine. :wink:

For my Loon 138, I made a four rod
holder from pvc (1 1/4 size) Used t’s and elbows for each rod holder to sit in. attached the horizontal pipe to a board, drilled holes for two bolts, placed another board usder the coaming, and inserted the bolts through holes in both boards, tighten and losen the rodholder with wing nuts and flat washers. Built it for catfishing, but would work for trolling too.

chose the milk crate
I rigged up a milk crate with some pvc rod holders. It fits perfectly secured under the thwart so the monster fish doesn’t pull anything overboard! I mounted my Driftmaster rod holders to the front and back of the canoe but I think they will be hard to reach from the paddling position. And they will be in the way when shore launching.

how?
Hi, I was wondering if anyone could further explain the milk crate setup with specifics…I’m not understanding it.

Currently, I have my rods laying free in my canoe, with my tackle box.

Thanks!

Just take a milk crate…the best ones