canoe school

I am traveling east from Indiana to Massachusetts in August and would like to know about canoe schools in the western part of that state--or in New York State or PA or even Ohio, all of which would be enroute. I am a novice, and am interested in learning about tandem canoeing in flatwater and very low key whitewater. A one or two day clinic would be just the ticlet. I'd be grateful for any advice on places to check out.

Where in Mass will you be
and in what time frame?

cheers,

JackL

I’m headed toward

western MA, the second week of August.

What part of Indiana are you in?
I live in Fishers, and paddle White River in Hamilton county a couple times a week. Let me know via e-mail if you ever want to go. Probably going in the morning in my kayak. I also have a canoe.

ZOAR is on the Deerfield River in
NW Massachusetts. I believe they have an excellent instruction program, and the Deerfield is dam controlled, with river sections of varied difficulty.

I hope to get to run the Deerfield in August, but as for ZOAR instruction, as they say, you can’t teach an old dog…

my thoughts exactly
http://www.zoaroutdoor.com/

Yes, I’ve been talking

to the Zoar folk. And that might work fine. My only reservation is that their canoes have no seats. And I’m not sure my bum knee can take the constant kneeling their canoes seem to require. Any suggestions on how to be relatively comfortable in such canoes for a few hours if you have a knee problem? (Alas, as I’d be fine on a regular canoe seat…)

Well, kneeling is de rigeur for WW
canoe paddling. After 34 years of kneeling, I would never describe it as long-term comfortable. However, I think ZOAR will have their foam pedestals set relatively high, and you will have good knee cups. Just don’t over-tighten whatever thigh straps are in the boat.