Canoe Set Up

Hey Guys,

I’m brand new to the site, (and to canoeing).

I just picked up a used canoe to fish slow rivers and back bays from WV to Delaware.

The canoe is 14’ and 42" wide. It has 2 bench seats that are nylon webbing. It’s purpose is to get the wife out with me more but I will set it up to fish from alone.

Question 1. Does anyone have any photos of rigged canoes or any suggestions? I don’t see any obvious ways to attach things like a light, rod holders for trolling or even just to get them out of the way while paddling, drink holders…

Question 2. Why do canoers use a single paddle instead of a double like you kayakers use? Is it because you need to dig more in a canoe?

Photos would be a big help.

Thanks,

Gregg

Fishing from your canoe
Welcome Gregg!

I’m somewhat new at this as well. Good luck getting your wife in it with you. My husband LOVES to fish, but isn’t too fond of fishing from my canoe, which is also 14’ long and 42" wide. Very stable for fishing. Mine came with a rod-holder/rifle-holder/paddle-holder. There’s a picture on my website - http://www.missnebulajones.diary-x.com/journal.cgi?entry=20050626 - it’s not the best picture, but you can see a little detail there under my daughter’s paddle.

Sorry I couldn’t be of more help, but I wanted to share my pictures anyway :slight_smile:

With a single-bladed paddle, one
splashes less water on the spouse, and is less likely to bonk her in the head.

Welcome, Doublehaul