Canoe transportation issues

Hello I am new to the Forum.

Looking for an inexpensive acessory that will keep the Canoe on the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee from sliding off the rack. Some type of block or ends that can be easily fastened to the OEM rack. Any suggestions…

See if these…
will do what you want:

http://www.maloneautoracks.com/big-foot-pro.php

I’ve been using them for a few years and quite like them. Used them on a round bar trailer, round bar truck rack and a factory Honda CRV rack. Worked like a charm in all instances.

Check out these articles
http://www.paddling.net/guidelines/showCategory.html?category=14

I’m not sure about your specific rack, canoe or tie-down method. There should be little problem securing your canoe, whether with ropes or straps, unless it has tumble home. Then brackets are useful.

:Load Stops" are nice, but …

– Last Updated: Jan-20-13 9:05 AM EST –

... you will spend about $100 for a set of four from any big-name company like Yakima, Thule or Malone. when I decided I wanted blocks like that, I built a set that are a slightly less convenient to use but still as good as any you can buy for about $5, but they only fit cross bars made from 2x4 lumber. Not everyone has the tools/skill to do that sort of thing, especially to fit a factory crossbar that's oblong in cross section.