canoe versus kayak?

My wife and I have been kayaking for a number of years and love to do long trips in the Vancouver Island area. We both have singles, but my wife prefers to paddle in a double on trips for safety and the extra gear carrying capacity.

I suggested instead of renting a double, we should buy a canoe with a full spray skirt and take that on our next sea kayaking trip. She didn’t like the idea, but I’m not convinced it wouldn’t work just fine.

Has anyone out there done this, and how was your experience?

Carrying capacity
I’m no expert about canoes or double kayaks but I always thought and read that 2 single kayaks can actually carry more gear than a tandem.

And for safety,
I would imagine that two individual boats provide a better safety margin than one tandem, tandem in trouble,both paddlers in trouble, individual boats can assist each other. Agree with Mario ref. carrying capacity also.

HEX

Tandem Kayak or Canoe
When the lee shore is Japan, I’d want a hard deck over my knees. Get a Necky Nootka. It’ll be faster than singles, much, much less likely to capsize and way easier than get back into if it does.

Also, wife will be able to paddle in a desultry manner and still fly safely with stability.

Why?
If you’re willing to buy a tandem canoe and spray deck, why not buy a used double kayak? What don’t you like about doubles?

I enjoy my canoe, but for open, potentially rough water I’d rather be in my kayak.

CLC
Since you have the experience building a Chesapeake, why don’t you build a double?

open
water with a canoe is very dangerous…I’ve seen the snaps on canoe sprayskirts ondo with being hit by wave action on mild whitewater…airbags and a wet ride are safer. On open water, consider the canoe sprayskirt as a rain only shield…not even close to the safety of a decked boat…get a double kayak if you want to be in the same boat and do open big water.

of course…there’s no safety in numbers, with just one boat (as others have mentioned)

Best Wishes