Canoe vs. kayak paddling

Hi, I have only ever kayaked. Nothing to big, I have a perception keowee, a 10 foot cruiser, and I’ve done a little sit on tops in the ocean. Not much though.

Now this summer I want to go on a trip. I want to take my 30 pound dog.

This leads me to select a canoe. I’ve never paddling one though. It seems to me it would get mighty uncomfortable, especially for long periods of time. I may be wrong but the two points that lead me to this conclusion are:

You sit or kneel, there’s no backrest like the kayak seat.

You alternate sides compared to the kayak which seems to have a nicer rhythm.

Now I’mno expert but is this true? Thanks.

this is true
you are no expert :slight_smile:

As I’ve never paddled a kayak, and never will; I’m no expert either :wink:

Just couldn’t resist.

Backrests and all that

– Last Updated: Apr-24-08 5:11 PM EST –

Understandable that you'd have this tendency in the kayaks you mention, but if you are actually relying on a backrest for ongoing support you aren't really paddling a kayak correctly anyway. If you were sitting more erect and rotating thru your stroke in the kayak as is desirable, you'd also be a lot closer to what you need to do in a canoe.

As to switching - you should invest in a little help on paddling a canoe. I am not there myself, but most of the people who paddle canoes in our after work group do relatively little switching. They use strokes that make it possible to keep the boat going straight while just paddling on one side.

Also, some canoes have some nice systems to make the kneeling more comfortable or allow modified positions. The canoe folks here can comment more on that.

No it is not true
I paddle them both, and I love them both.

I can sit in a canoe and paddle it all day long and I can sit a kayak and paddle it all day long.

I don’t use the back rest in my kayak and I don’t use one in a canoe.