Canoe vs. kayak?

I am a paddler and that is what I love doing, almost to a fault. I am, however, traditional and I have 0 experience with sit-in kayaks, only canoes.

My two best friends and I will be undertaking a trip down the entire length of the Mississippi River. My friends, I believe, are more inclined to use the sleek looking, top of the line touring type yak.

However confident I am in my paddling abilities will I have to choose between ‘converting’ or being left behind?

depends.

– Last Updated: Apr-25-10 5:16 AM EST –

1st off I should say I have no experience doing long trips. A few days at a time here and there but nothing on the scale you are taking about.

My first thoughts are that you will never be able to paddle a typical solo canoe alongside your friends in their sleek sea kayaks. However much of that assumption is based on my own experience and what little I have read about you in this post.
A lot of what you are asking is really a question of how much experience you have and what type of boat you are paddling. My suggestion is to take a weekend and paddle with your friends. It is kind of weird that these guys are your best friends yet you are not sure how fast either of you will be traveling. You will find out if you are compatible over long distances in a relatively short time. The fact that you are asking says you don't have the experience yet. Also, not really knowing the experience level of your friends, it is very hard to judge what their typical day on the water is like. New touring sea kayaks mean nothing if they don't have any time in them.