Canoe where-South to Mid FL

I am fairly new to canoeing - just bought a Bell Morningstar 2 weeks ago.

We have canoed at: Jonathan Dickinson, Loxahatchee Reserve, Myakka, Oscar Schrer, Koreshan,Peace River, Wekiva and Hillsborough River SP and pretty soon Salt Springs Rec area in Ocala Natl Forest.

We are looking for a place within 3-4 hrs from Ft. Lauderdale area & a place we can put our camper at.

Usually we stay at State Parks-but any campgroud that is decent will do. We would use a shuttle service if it is near the campground also.

Recommendations? AntiqFreq

3-4 hrs…
I am in the same boat(no pun intended-Oakland Park), and it looks like you have hit most close decent places. There is Flamingo, but i can’t comment as we haven’t done it. Unless you want to fight some serious bugs, our paddeling/camping season is severly limited. I have heard that Canaveral(Indian/Bannana Rivers)has some really interesting back country and the fishing is great. If you go a little further, there are 3-4 springs in Ocala Nat Forest, and a few more surrounding it. We also like to hit the state parks as most of them are cleaner and alot cheaper than private.

RD

Central Florida trip