canoe with a motor?

Hello all!! I’m totally new to all of this so forgive me if this is a dumb question but …

I’m looking for a canoe for touring & messing about on the river / maybe figuring out a little bit of white water. I have maybe 4 hrs experience so basically know nothing.

• Can you just fit a motor to any canoe or does it have to have a flat back?
  • Are sails a good idea?
  • I guess I want a jack of all trades type of canoe so what would you get, if you were as green as me at all this?

Thank you!!

Thank you!!

motor mount
You can gt a bracket like this one to mount a small electric trolling motor or outboard: http://www.llbean.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CategoryDisplay?storeId=1&catalogId=1&langId=-1&categoryId=32626&productId=88266&qs=3009647

Some people enjoy sailing canoes. The spirit sails seem to be popular: http://www.spiritsails.com/

Check out
www.canoesailingmagazine.com

motors on canoes
I’ve used various electric and gas motors on various boats including canoes, rafts, jon boats and homebuilt craft over the years. Based on that experience, I generally would not recommend a motor on a canoe, unless you have a specific body of water you want to travel that cannot be done under paddle power.

The reason is that a canoe is so easy to propel with a paddle and can be launched almost anywhere. You’re better off driving to some place where you can fish or explore near where you put in, than to put in at a boat ramp and try to motor to where you want to go. Furthermore, a motor adds so much weight and bother to a canoe that you usually end of working harder loading the motor and gas can or battery than you would paddling.