Canoeing shallow rivers

Total newb here. Just wondering how much water depth do you need to use a canoe? I live just a couple of miles from a river that is about 2.5 feet deep right now, I think it gets a lot more shallow in the summer. I would guess that a big canoe with 2 adults, a kid and some gear is gonna bottom out much sooner than a solo canoe?

You will be amazed
how little water dept you need. This is the most wonderful thing about canoes. What a terrific craft.

Should be similar
Solo canoes are more than half the length of a tandem, but the relatively small extra length of a tandem is within the main body of the boat (both styles of boat have two ends, but one has more “middle” than the other, so that extra bit provides plenty of displacement as the boat sinks deeper). That’s a crude way of looking at it, but you get the idea. To use the boat you are thinking about getting as an example, the Bell Website says that the Eveningstar’s three-inch and four-inch waterlines correspond to loads of 395 and 550 pounds, respectively. I took a quick look at the waterline-load relationships for the Merlin II (a solo canoe) and at a glance (I didn’t do any math in my head) they seemed to correspond to a roughly similar gear load in addition to an average-weight paddler. In short, there won’t be a really huge difference between the depth needed to float one person with gear in a solo, and two people with gear in a tandem. The thing I always see in group river trips that makes more difference than anything is how big the people in the boat are. For both the solo canoe paddlers and the tandem teams, it’s the big paddlers who run aground in the riffles while the average-size folks float on through.

you just got to go and find out …

– Last Updated: Jan-26-12 10:18 PM EST –

...... 2.5' is way more than enough .