Cape Horn 15.5 Stability

I love the Cape Horn…

On that note, I noticed the initial stability especally going over chop is a bit tippy.

Was wondering if adding a couple of sand bags to the bow hatch would improve the ride (less tippy)

I am new to kayaking…trying to aviod sea sickness…

Thanks.

Give It Some Time…
just relax and keep the paddle moving. A moving paddle gives stability. You 'll find if you keep yourself relax (especially around the hips), you won’t send mixed signals to your craft. :slight_smile:

sing

Time, Not Weight…

– Last Updated: May-18-06 9:54 AM EST –

...should get you feeling a lot more comfortable in the Cape Horn. My wife has had one for about five years, and absolutely loves it...it's probably one of the most stable boats afloat. Adding weight, especially in just the bow, isn't the answer - it would affect fore and aft trim, and any significant amount of weight, if unsecured, could cause some real problems in the event of a capsize.
Sing is dead right about the relationship between movement and stability - keep paddling and moving the boat along and it'll feel a lot more solid underneath you.
Lessons - formal or informal - are a great idea - it'd let you explore the boat's limits in a safe situation, and give you far more confidence in the Cape Horn and yourself.
Re "...trying to avoid sea sickness"...it's not clear if you actually get seasick, or just fear getting seasick...if it's the latter, it's likely that lots of cockpit time will cure that too. When we were really new at it, I tended to get my stomach in a knot every time something new came at me...boat wake, wind chop, whatever...and the apprehension felt like the start of seasickness. Now it takes something pretty drastic to get the butterflies fluttering.

Seasick

– Last Updated: May-18-06 12:35 PM EST –