Car-top carrying

I’m a newbie, glad I found this board…be gentle with me, please!

Trying to lessen the financial trauma of kayaking, I am buying bits and pieces now, from time to time, before I buy a boat.

For several reasons, I’m looking at buying a 'yak holder for my roof rack (VUE), before buying a boat. I am leaning towards Thule’s Hull-a-port. Problem is, I have read so much in the past month, I can’t keep track. I seem to remember something about composite boats not doing well on J-style racks??? or am I confused?

I’m not certain it will be an issue, 'cause they’re pretty pricey and I am leaning towards poly, but just in case a ‘fantasy deal’ appears…

TIA

Martine

I have Thule hulaports…
…and then don’t hurt our kevlar yaks or our poly yaks.

With that said, here is my take on them: I have them on Yakama round bars, and I have had to drill holes through them and my bars and put bolts through them to keep them from twisting if I slide the yak on from the back. If I put it on from the side there is no problem.

I also replaced the phillips head machine screws and there little knobs with hex head bolts, nuts and washers.

I wouldn’t buy them again.

I also have some twelve year old Yakama saddles which are perfect.

I have a bunch of different situations where I am constantly changing back and forth from the J cradles to the regular saddles.

If you are just carrying one or two yaks, I would get saddles before the J cradles.

Cheers,

JackL

Thanks, Jack
Since my VUE has fairly large oval cross-bars, I likely won’t have to worry about the ‘slipping’ issue.

Although there will likely be only one boat, we do a lot of cycling, and are trying to avoid having to put on/take off the double bike rack already on the roof…there’s just enough room for a J-style rack beside it…also, it’s quite conceivable we will one day want to bring both bikes and the kayak…

Martine

Lots out there