Carbon paddle storage - horizontal hang

-- Last Updated: Jul-07-13 4:52 PM EST --

So, I am a hobbyist woodworker and am often trying to find neat little things to make for around the house. Towel racks, knife racks, step stools, work benches - that sort of thing.

Well, we just purchased two beautiful Werner full carbon paddles off the Craigslist and though they came with Wenonah paddle bags, the paddles would look much better if mounted on the wall above our TV.

Yes, we are geeks that way.

So my question is this - will hanging a full carbon paddle horizontally cause any problems over the long term? Obviously we will be taking them down often to go capsize a boat somewhere, but I can't help but wonder about the Gravity Always Wins argument. Will hanging our new toys like trophy fish lead to warping blades, drooping shafts or some other horrible malady?

Any thoughts are appreciated...

no, it won’t
unlike organic paddles (wood) that can warp if stored incorrectly, carbon paddles on the other hand do not have any problems if stored horizontally or only supported on small areas.

The only way a carbon paddle would become distorted and warp if the temperatures were so high to soften the epoxy of the composite (and that’s very high, much higher than the living interior of a house)

I’m speechless
I share your affection for my Werner carbon paddle but never thought of it as a decorative element. On the other hand I do hang my backpacks prominently because I like to look at them (and to remind me to hike). If I were a thief I would take your paddles right off the wall.

I think that hanging the paddles horizontally is blatantly elitist. Hanging them vertically would convey that they are practical items that get used.

Adjust the paddle hanging angle for
the best TV reception.

mantel display