Carbonlite Boats Experience?

I’ve been paddling my old glass kayak for over 20 years (Necky Looksha IV HV) and want to add a lighter and shorter boat to my personal fleet. My question is… are the new Carbonlite boats strong enough to handle rocky launches and landings that we experience here in Washington State and British Columbia? My old glass boat is holding up just fine, but I’m considering a shorter and lighter (Eddyline Sitka XT) as a day/weekend camper.

I’ve ploughed through a lot of outdated online shaggy dog stories and opinions, but can’t find any reviews of substance that are relative to my 2024 question. I’m looking for anyone that’s actually had experience with a Carbonlite boat in the barnacle encrusted rocky shorelines of the Pacific Northwest.

Thanks in advance.

I added an Eddyline Raven a few years ago as my glass boat was more than I needed and it kept getting heavier each year. The Raven was used so I wasn’t worried about scratches … it came with plenty of them already added for my convenience. I’ve not found Carbonlite to be overly fragile, but (full disclosure) nothing is tougher than poly on rocks so I’ve kept my Old Town Cayuga 146.
If I were in the market for an Eddyline, I’d look at used (pre-2023) only until we get some reliable reports on the quality now that they have moved.

2 Likes

Thanks for the response. I’m looking at a new boat, as I’ve recently started work at a well known PNW outdoor store with an exceptional return policy. It’s looking like I’ll be the crash test dummy with Eddyline’s post 2023 offerings.

Looking forward to your first test report!

1 Like

From what I’ve read, carbonlite is similar in durability or slightly stronger than fiberglass, although can become brittle and susceptible to cracking when cold. It’s also a bit lighter. A carbonlite hull is also a bit more resistant to scratching than gelcoat.